Grand Traverse Rural Fire Battalion 10

The purpose of the Grand Traverse Rural Fire Department is...

To prevent fires from occurring, to save lives and property of the people in Grand Traverse County should fire or any other threatening emergency occur. To provide fire apparatus to extinguish fire by the most efficient means and to provide mutual aid in the County and surrounding communities.

The Grand Traverse Rural Fire Department consists of ten townships organized under the Urban Cooperation Agreement. The ten townships each have one representative that sits on the Rural Fire Board. That person is generally the Supervisor of the Township. Of those ten townships only six townships have fire stations. These fire stations house various apparatus to service all ten township boundaries. We have our own Station 10 Captain and appointed officers. The Rural Fire Board appoints a Rural Fire Chief that is in charge of the Station Captains and Stations.

Officers of Station #10

Grand Traverse County
Rural Fire Chief/CEO      

Theo Weber

Station #10 Captain

John Brown

Honorary Member

Bea Houghton

The Long Lake Fire Station 10 is always in need of new members. If you are interested in becoming a trained Firefighter/Rescue volunteer or are a trained Medical First Responder and are willing to dedicate a small portion of your life to community service please contact one of our members or Chief Weber at the Rural Fire Office, 231-943-9721. Visit our website.